Archetype Review

Second book of the new year? Let’s go!

Customary warning: This is a reminder that these are my personal opinions. My thoughts and feelings are not your thoughts and feelings. I may not always be the target  audience for a book; sometimes I am. If I do not like a book, that doesn’t mean you’ll dislike it. If I love a book or simply like a book, you may hate it. Take everything I say with this knowledge. If it sounds interesting to you despite what I’ve said, then go ahead and read it. You’ll only know you like something if you read it yourself.

That being said… Spoilers ahead.




Archetype by M.D. Waters

Synopsis From The Book

In a future where women are a rare commodity, Emma fights for freedom but is held captive by the love of two men—one her husband, the other her worst enemy. If only she could remember which is which.
 
In the stunning first volume of a two-book series that will appeal to readers of William Gibson and Philip K. Dick, Emma wakes with her memory wiped clean. Her husband, Declan—a powerful and seductive man—narrates the story of her past, but Emma’s dreams contradict him. They show her war, a camp where girls are trained to be wives, and love for another man. Something inside warns her not to speak of these things, but the line between her dreams and reality is about to shatter forever.


Short Synopsis By Me

See above.


Initial Thoughts Before Reading:

Looks like I’m on a kick for reading series and their first books, since I don’t have their sequels. It’s a bit frustrating but we can’t always have what we want.

I thought this book was YA, but I’m not so sure anymore. Excited by the premise. My aunt got the book for me, and had sent me a picture of the cover, which was what captured my interest.

Initial Thoughts After Reading:

This book reminded me of a more watered down version of The Handmaid’s Tale with more of a sci-fi element of cloning. It wasn’t as good as The Handmaid’s Tale, but it wasn’t bad. 

Plot Overview:

Emma, our main character, wakes with no memories of her life. The doctors of her rehabilitation center help her with her nightmares and placing the memories. Her husband, Declan, tries to fill in the gaps that she has. Slowly she remembers places she should have never been, and a man who is not Declan. In time she remembers all too much and realizes that the man of her dreams was the man she was in love with.

Years ago, Emma had been sold like a slave to become Declan’s wife but she escaped. In her escape she became a resistance leader, and helped hundreds of other girls like her. Only, she was caught, and killed. Her mind and body were perfectly cloned to where she and the original Emma were the same being in two bodies.

After some fighting, Emma must pick which body will survive and what that means for her relationships around her.

What I Liked:

Dystopia; I like myself some good Handmaid like dystopian cultures. In this one the United States is split in half where one half (East) sells girls for their reproductive status, due to an infertility crisis. Additionally I liked the difference in the cultures between East, West, and other countries.

Memories; The way that Emma’s memories were revealed was nice.

Characters; In general all the characters (maybe three) were generally well developed. Emma’s motivations made sense for me.

Plot; Not much here other than it was executed well, and flowed nicely.

What I Would Have Liked or Changed:

How more of the world works other than just the east vs west.

Time Taken To Read

1hr 34min

Rating: 3/5

Notable Quotes:

None

One thought on “Archetype Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s